CORVALLIS, Ore. – Oregon State head coach Pat Casey has been named the National Coach of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) on Tuesday. The honor comes just a day after Collegiate Baseball named Casey its Coach of the Year.

The ABCA award is voted on by members of association. It’s the third time Casey has been honored by the ABCA, following recognition in 2006 and 2007.

Casey guided the Beavers to the program’s third national championship last week, and with a 5-0 victory over Arkansas, won his 900thgame at Oregon State. The Beavers became just the second team in NCAA history to win six elimination games en route to the title.

The other? Oregon State in 2006.

Oregon State won 55 games in 2018, one shy of the school-record of 56 set in 2017. The Beavers have posted a 111-18-1 (.858) record over the past two seasons.

OSU, which posted a winning percentage of .903 (56-6) in 2017 and .816 in 2018 (55-12-1), is the first team to lead the NCAA in that category in back-to-back seasons since Southern in 2002 and 2003.

Casey has now been named the National Coach of the Year by at least one publication in five different seasons: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2017 and 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here